Page 1 of 1

How to use operator NOT in search agent?

Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 6:00 pm
by ---Tapio---
Hi
I like to search items without a specific word, example without word "Poliisi".
If my query is "NOT Poliisi", I will got any items (I know that there is items with this word).

How to use operator NOT in search agent?

Tapio

Re: How to use operator NOT in search agent?

Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:26 am
by support
A couple of things to check:
* make sure that Advanced syntax is turned on.
* are you using only ASCII characters e.g. is "Poliisi" actually spelled with an "unusual" character?

Re: How to use operator NOT in search agent?

Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 2:36 pm
by ---Tapio---
Advanced syntax is turned on and there is no any "unusual" characters.

Same happens example with http://www.bbc.co.uk/go/rss/int/news/-/ ... a_pacific/
- there is 13 results with search "China" (Advanced syntax is off) and
- there is 0 results with search "NOT China" (Advanced syntax is on)

I can send some hardcopies of screens and settings by email, if needed.

Tapio

Re: How to use operator NOT in search agent?

Posted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 7:57 am
by support
Hmmm, I've had a quick play with this and you're right, it seems to be not working :-(

Leave it with me and I'll look into it.