Page 1 of 1

Script Error

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:47 pm
by ken1943
One channel gives me scripting errors , but only on one computer.
Happens on both IE8 and IE9. I upgraded to IE9. Firefox is used 99% of the time.
IE9 script settings are ok.

Latest error http://widgets.digg.com/buttons.js

Re: Script Error

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:32 pm
by support
ken1943 wrote:One channel gives me scripting errors

What's the channel URL?

Re: Script Error

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:27 am
by ken1943
http://www.kdvr.com/news/?track=rss
Please ignore this

Woops wrong machine

Re: Script Error

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:49 am
by ken1943
It's the same as the good machine.

http://www.kdvr.com/news/?track=rss

Re: Script Error

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:08 am
by support
This is not a feed URL.

Open the Channel Properties dialog, go to the Details page and copy the "Feed URL" address.

Re: Script Error

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:39 pm
by ken1943

Re: Script Error

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:26 pm
by kevotheclone
Hi ken1943,

When you say "IE9 script settings are ok." does that mean that "Disable script debugging (Internet Explorer)" and "Disable script debugging (Other)" are both enabled (i.e. "checked" or "ticked"). I haven't installed IE9 yet so maybe Microsoft has renamed these setting since IE8.

Sometimes these types of errors are caused by one malformed HTML feed item that will go away once it's no longer displayed in Awasu. Although, from the URL that you just posted it doesn't look like it's a highly HTML formatted feed.
For what it's worth I don't have any script errors in IE8 with the current feed items.

If the Channel is set to display "All" feed items the "bad" feed item may hang around away. You may be able to hasten its demise by marking all the current items as read and setting "Show feed items" to either "New" or "Unread"; or use the "Show the last" setting to restrict the number of feeds items displayed to a set number or a specific time period.

Re: Script Error

Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 1:46 am
by ken1943
IE 8 and 9 have the same settings. I will try what you suggest and see what happens.
Thanks for your help.