RunnerDuck

Postby RunnerDuck » Wed Dec 31, 2003 3:50 am

I'm new to RSS so bear with me. I have written a small sample page. When I open it in Awasu it only shows a little of the first subject. When I open it in SharpReader it is complete with paragraph breaks.

I've rewritten it about six times trying different things but nothing seems to wrok.

Here is the link, http://www.runnerduck.com/test_rss.xml

Thanks for any help,

Ken

support
Site Admin

Postby support » Wed Dec 31, 2003 7:01 am

RunnerDuck wrote:When I open it in Awasu it only shows a little of the first subject. When I open it in SharpReader it is complete with paragraph breaks.

XML is not the same as HTML. While your descriptions are HTML (i.e. you are using the <P> tag to start a new paragraph), you still have to follow the rules for XML since that is what RSS is.

One of these rules is anything that looks like a tag is an XML tag. So, your feed contains descriptions like this:

Code: Select all

<description>Blah blah blah<p>More blah blah blah</description>

whereas it should be like this:

<description>Blah blah blah&lt;p>More blah blah blah</description>

You need to encode the opening < (using &lt;) so that it doesn't get processed as the start of an XML tag.

BTW, this is also an issue for ampersands. This is a special XML character so you need to use &amp; (although Awasu does its best to be forgiving about this one).

RunnerDuck

Postby RunnerDuck » Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:37 pm

Thank you that really helped. I still have another question. One of the best ways for me to learn someting is by seeing examples. When I click on your XML button the script that comes up has HTML <P> </P> for paragraphs. Yet you tell me I need to use & instead of <. Does something happen to the script when it opens in a browser? I've gone out to www.xml.com and reading away but examples of the real world help a lot.

Is there any way to see what the code really looks like?

Thanks,

Ken

support
Site Admin