opus412
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby opus412 » Fri Dec 31, 2004 4:01 pm

After installing Awasu, I began to periodically get an IE message that says "The web page you requested is not available offline." If I click Connect, nothing happens. I tried uninstalling Awasu, still getting this message. Checked for malware, nothing comes up. Any idea whether this is related to Awasu, and how to get rid of it? Thanks!

...Steve

abwilson
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 12:36 am
Location: San Francisco, CA -- USA

Postby abwilson » Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:04 pm

Verify that "Work Offline" is not checked in Internet Explorer's File menu.

(Does Awasu itself work okay?)

opus412
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby opus412 » Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:18 pm

Looked at IE's file menu, Work Offline is not checked. Awasu worked ok before I deleted it, haven't reinstalled it yet.

opus412
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby opus412 » Fri Dec 31, 2004 11:19 pm

Incidentally, I use Firefox as my browser, not IE. Although I guess Awasu requires IE, or maybe Mozilla...

abwilson
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 12:36 am
Location: San Francisco, CA -- USA

Postby abwilson » Sat Jan 01, 2005 12:50 am

Please clarify: You use Firefox as your normal browser, so under what circumstances was/is IE issuing the message about Web pages not being available offline?

Thanks

opus412
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby opus412 » Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:29 am

Getting the offline message at random times, hadn't been getting that message until after Awasu was installed.

abwilson
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 12:36 am
Location: San Francisco, CA -- USA

Postby abwilson » Sat Jan 01, 2005 2:14 am

Sorry, I don't understand: If you use Firefox, not IE, and you're not running Awasu (which can use Firefox but uses IE by default), when/why is IE being invoked?

Are you doing something explicit with IE or is it being run by some other process?

If IE is running "mysteriously", have you rebooted to try to clear the condition? For example, did you reboot after uninstalling Awasu?

Thanks

opus412
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby opus412 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:56 am

Sorry I wasn't more clear. I'm not sure why IE is being invoked in that message, that's why I posted the question - the only connection I could think of was that it started happening after I installed Awasu. I've rebooted a couple times since I uninstalled Awasu, and the message is pretty infrequent now, but still get it occasionally, with no apparent cause.

Anyway, how would I go about using Firefox instead of IE with Awasu?

...Steve

abwilson
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 12:36 am
Location: San Francisco, CA -- USA

Postby abwilson » Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:13 am

For Firefox, please see:

http://www.awasu.com/faqs/ReplacingIe.php

I used Firefox within Awasu for awhile and it worked fine, but I could never figure out how to make the text bigger when Firefox was displaying a page within Awasu, so I went back to IE.

opus412
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby opus412 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:15 am

Thanks. Not sure I wanna install Mozilla just for this, maybe I'll try again with IE, see what happens...

abwilson
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2003 12:36 am
Location: San Francisco, CA -- USA

Postby abwilson » Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:25 am

Good luck -- and please keep us posted.

Syntoad

Postby Syntoad » Sun Jan 02, 2005 3:03 pm

You don't really need to install the whole mozilla, just the Active X control which can be found at http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/control.htm.

opus412
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

Postby opus412 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:55 pm

Thanks. Does that introduce any of the security pitfalls that IE is so famous for?


Return to “Awasu - General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest