Page 1 of 1

Channel Update Errors

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:55 am
by Booboo
I am have a massive amount of channel update errors (but not a 100% of channels). Including feeds for major services such BBC.

Any suggestions?

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:06 am
by Booboo
i just went to optimize the database and received this message:

07jan09 17:04:17 | Unknown exception: SQL logic error or missing database (rc=1).

Perhaps it is related?

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:44 am
by support
Booboo wrote:Perhaps it is related?

Probably. I've never seen this one before.

Open the Properties dialog for any of the erroring channels and check the Errors tab to find out what the error is. If it's a database-related error, deleting your <tt>ARCHIVE.DB</tt> file should clear the problem.

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:45 am
by Booboo
There was no info in the Error box.

I deleted all the Archive related files.

Some channels have updated but far from all.

Ran Optimize. The report tells me that there were no errors but that I have 72 channels whereas I acctually have around 300.

Further thoughts?

Oh. Happy New Year.

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:41 am
by support
Booboo wrote:There was no info in the Error box.

Error messages are not saved across sessions so if you recently restarted Awasu, this box will be blank.

Booboo wrote:Ran Optimize. The report tells me that there were no errors but that I have 72 channels whereas I acctually have around 300.

The report only counts how many channels it found archived content for. If you've just recently deleted your ARCHIVE.DB file, it's entirely likely that there are only 72 channels that have received content and saved it in the archive database.

Update all your channels and find one that gets the error and check it's Error box (or check the Error Log, accessible via the View menu). This will tell you why the channels are getting errors.

Booboo wrote:Happy New Year.

Happy New Year to you too.

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:00 am
by Booboo
There are no error log entries.

It doesn't seem to touch the red X channels. Although I can force an individual update through right click - update only.

If I use 'Update All' it just appears to skip most channels.

BTW I reinstalled over the top - to no avail:-(

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 2:14 pm
by support
Booboo wrote:There are no error log entries.

It doesn't seem to touch the red X channels. Although I can force an individual update through right click - update only.

If I use 'Update All' it just appears to skip most channels.

That's correct. When a channel goes red, it gets bypassed by a normal "Update all". Consequently, the channels that are getting the errors don't try to update, hence you don't see any error log entries.

You need to get a channel that is having problems to update and get an error, then you will see an entry in the error log. Either force all channels to update by holding down the SHIFT key when you select the "Update all" menu item, or manually update a single channel and make sure it actually tries to update and gets an error.

Also try validating some of the feeds that having problems - maybe they really are wrong.

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 2:55 am
by Booboo
when 200+ of my feeds fail I don't think that that transmitting ends have all fallen over. A few selective validation tests appears to have proved that they feeds are healthy.

In anycase, after allowing Awasu to sleep overnight, it fired up on all cylinders in the morning!

I susspect that a blue screen crash may have cased the problem in the first place. So how much slower will Awasu run if I untick Fast Db access?

Thanks also for the tip about holding the shift key if force update all.

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 3:06 am
by support
Booboo wrote:when 200+ of my feeds fail I don't think that that transmitting ends have all fallen over.

Not necessarily :-) A lot of feeds have a single common point of failure e.g. many come from blogger.com or wordpress.com, or go through FeedBurner, so if there is a problem at one of these places, it will affect a very large number of feeds. People can also have problems when using laptops on a public wifi network that requires you to login first. The wifi router sends every internet request to the login page, including feed downloads, which obviously won't parse as a feed and hence gives an error.

Booboo wrote:So how much slower will Awasu run if I untick Fast Db access?

Just gotta suck it and see :-) It will probably be noticeably slower but there's no problem with turning this switch on and off.

The error was a very weird one and most definitely could've been caused by a database corruption when your computer blue-screened.

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 12:39 am
by Booboo
FYI I have unticked Fast Db Access and can't notice any difference in performance.