imbrue

Postby imbrue » Tue Feb 14, 2006 3:13 am

I recently started using Awasu, and have generally been pleased with it. It is high quality software in very many ways.

Does anybody else experience that Awasu is using a significant CPU percentage at all times, even when idle? I'm confused as to why the process would be so CPU intensive when nothing is happening. For example, right now, I've been running Awasu for about the last hour or so without using it to read much of anything, and it has consumed almost 19 minutes of CPU time. Compare that to about 2 minutes of CPU time for a browser application that has been up and running for several hours.

Is this normal for this application, or do I have something set up wrong? As a developer myself, I run a lot of CPU intensive processes while I'm working and can't really have an application like this consuming this much of my CPU.

support
Site Admin

Postby support » Tue Feb 14, 2006 8:32 am

What version and edition of Awasu do you have? Have you set up any reports to be generated automatically? These happen in the background and sometimes accounts for "unexpected" CPU-usage. How often are your channels set to update?

Also, if you have a lot of channels, Awasu can be doing a lot of background work updating the search index, the archive database, etc. during the initial update of channels after you've started the program. Does is still happen even after Awasu has been running for a long time?

In general, the first thing to do is to watch the Activity Log to see if anything's happening.

imbrue

Postby imbrue » Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:18 pm

support wrote:What version and edition of Awasu do you have?
I'm running Personal Edition 2.2

support wrote:Have you set up any reports to be generated automatically?
No.

support wrote:How often are your channels set to update?
I currently have 17 channels and all are set to update hourly.