Matt
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:43 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby Matt » Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:19 am

When i mark a post as read/unread, it reloads the entire channel summary page, just to change the formatting on the feed item heading.

This is annoying as it does a whole refresh, when it doesn't really need to (it could just change the innerHTML property on that heading, and it'd be fine).

But the major problem with doing the whole reload is that when you click on an external link in the feed item, and it starts to load the external site, if you do the mark-as-read option, it reloads the window, and aborts the navigate to the external site.

Its not a huge issue, but its just one I've come across quite a few times lately.

Cheers,
Matt

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:17 pm

Matt wrote:it could just change the innerHTML property on that heading, and it'd be fine.


I don't quite understand what you mean here.

Matt wrote:But the major problem with doing the whole reload is that when you click on an external link in the feed item, and it starts to load the external site, if you do the mark-as-read option, it reloads the window, and aborts the navigate to the external site.


Hmmm.... good point. I'll see what I can do.

Matt
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:43 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby Matt » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:25 pm

support wrote:
Matt wrote:it could just change the innerHTML property on that heading, and it'd be fine.


I don't quite understand what you mean here.



If you access the object model for the IE browser object, you can 'walk' the page as objects (sorry if i'm oversimplifying).

Maybe a quick example would help (apologies for dodgy code):

Code: Select all

<HTML>
   <HEAD>
      <script language="vbscript">
         sub ChangeFooText
            spnFoo.innerHTML = "bob"
         end sub
      </script>
   </HEAD>
   <BODY>
      <DIV ID="spnFoo">Hello</DIV>
      <form>
         <INPUT id="Button1" type="button" value="Button" name="Button1" onclick="ChangeFooText">
      </form>
   </BODY>
</HTML>


So, you can just modify the innerHTML property of the appropriate item heading, which will re-render just that heading.

Let me know if you want to take this offline.

Cheers,
Matt

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:30 pm

Ah, I see what you mean.

I've been very reluctant to get that funky in the page templates since:

1) it may not work if the user switches to using Mozilla.
2) it will discourage and make things more difficult for less-technical people to modify or create their own templates.

Awasu only refreshes the summary if it is already currently showing so this looks like it's more of a timing issue than anything i.e. you've started a page load but Awasu still thinks the summary page is still showing, hence the refresh.

Matt
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:43 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Postby Matt » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:39 pm

Ahh, that makes sense. I'm tempted to say "fooey" to those mozilla users, but that'd just start a flame war :D

I'll leave it all in your more-than-capable hands.

Cheers,
matt

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Jan 10, 2005 8:46 pm

Matt wrote:I'm tempted to say "fooey" to those mozilla users, but that'd just start a flame war


Any comment I could make here would probably get me into trouble :roll: :lol:


Return to “Awasu - Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests