Page 1 of 1

Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channels

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:06 am
by JulianUK
I've deleted a few channels that no longer interest me, but when I save a synch file Awasu gives me an error dialog:

Synchronisation Error
Can't find channel for config file: <something.channel>

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:16 am
by support
JulianUK wrote:when I save a synch file Awasu gives me an error dialog:


Were you able to complete the save? Looking at the code, it seems that you should be able to continue even though you get this error message.

I've got a very strong suspicion that this is being caused by a known issue that we're going to fix for the next release. If you exit and restart Awasu, do the channels you deleted come back to life?

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:35 am
by JulianUK
support wrote:
JulianUK wrote:when I save a synch file Awasu gives me an error dialog:

Were you able to complete the save?

Yes, no problem. By the way (you probably can see this from the code) I get each error box three times.
support wrote:I've got a very strong suspicion that this is being caused by a known issue that we're going to fix for the next release. If you exit and restart Awasu, do the channels you deleted come back to life?

No, they appear to remain deleted.

If I restore from the sync file it restores without error dialogs, then in the "Load sync data report" it flags "Missing channel GUID" warnings for all the channels which had error boxes on the save.

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:49 am
by support
JulianUK wrote:If I restore from the sync file it restores without error dialogs, then in the "Load sync data report" it flags "Missing channel GUID" warnings for all the channels which had error boxes on the save.


So after restoring from the sync file, did the channels re-appear?

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 12:08 pm
by JulianUK
support wrote:
JulianUK wrote:If I restore from the sync file it restores without error dialogs, then in the "Load sync data report" it flags "Missing channel GUID" warnings for all the channels which had error boxes on the save.


So after restoring from the sync file, did the channels re-appear?


No... :?

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:24 pm
by support
Hmmm, OK.

It's sounds like everything's OK anyway :-)

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:28 pm
by JulianUK
support wrote:Hmmm, OK.

It's sounds like everything's OK anyway :-)


Yes - irritating rather than a problem. Does rather put me off using autosync on program start/exit though...

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 2:53 pm
by support
JulianUK wrote:Yes - irritating rather than a problem.


Oh, is it happening every time? I thought it was a one-off...?

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:44 pm
by JulianUK
support wrote:
JulianUK wrote:Yes - irritating rather than a problem.


Oh, is it happening every time? I thought it was a one-off...?


No, it's consistent every time I save a sync file...

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:33 pm
by support
Ah. Can you send us a copy of your CONFIG.INI file and all the .CHANNEL files. They live under your user's home directory (e.g. C:\Program Files\Awasu\Users\YOUR-NAME) and in the Channels sub-directory.

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 6:04 pm
by JulianUK
support wrote:Ah. Can you send us a copy of your CONFIG.INI file and all the .CHANNEL files. They live under your user's home directory (e.g. C:\Program Files\Awasu\Users\YOUR-NAME) and in the Channels sub-directory.


emailed to you

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:20 am
by support
This problem is indeed being caused by the known issue I mentioned before. One symptom of it is that channels come back to life after you restart Awasu, this appears to be another one :-).

If anyone else is getting this, you can fix it by checking the .CHANNEL files your user's Channels sub-directory (e.g. C:\Program Files\Awasu\Users\YOUR-NAME\Channels). Typically, these will be 2-3000 bytes in size. If you have any that are really small (e.g. 50-100 bytes), they can safely be deleted.

I've sent you an email listing the files that should be deleted on your installation.

Re: Saving sync file: error boxes relating to deleted channe

Posted: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:16 am
by JulianUK
support wrote:I've sent you an email listing the files that should be deleted on your installation.


As per email, yes this has fixed the problem. Thanks :!:

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:43 pm
by prairieprog
I have the same problem and after deleting the file in a C:\Program Files\Awasu\Users\YOUR-NAME\Channels as suggested, I now get the error message: Missing channel GUID for the same channel.

I don't recall when I deleted this channel but it does not reappear when I synch. This error has been occurring every day for roughly a week. The GUID message appeared for the first time today because it is the first time I ran synch since deleting the channel

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:42 am
by support
prairieprog wrote:I now get the error message: Missing channel GUID for the same channel.

Run both Awasu's at least once without doing a sync. Then when you try to sync next time, everything should've sorted itself out.