User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3021
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:43 pm

Did you change the URL in the script? The code you posted still has the URL I used for my own testing.

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Mon Nov 19, 2012 3:12 pm

Yes I did. I can't put the URL up on an open forum. Unfortunately I'm not able to send you PMs otherwise I'd let you have it to test it out yourself.

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Mon Nov 19, 2012 3:18 pm

Oops sorry, I didn't change the localhost one, just the link value. I've updated the other URL and it seems to have taken it. I'll keep you posted on whether it updates.

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:42 pm

Update. The script works fine, but sadly still no update balloon.

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3021
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:50 pm

When exactly do you want a balloon? Every update? Every time the value changes?

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:07 pm

Well I'm restricted to every 30 minutes with the advanced version of Awasu. There would always be a change in the number as there are thousands of listeners. As I mentioned previously, the chances of the figure being the same as before are pretty much zero.

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3021
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:26 pm

You need to check the feed to be sure that the value is different. Also note that if you update the channel manually, you won't get a balloon.

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:45 pm

Yes I have checked. The feed updates every few minutes. If I update manually I get a different figure every time. If I check the feed it will show an update within the last 30 minutes. If I manually refresh the figure changes. No matter how long I leave it, I never see an update balloon. And yes I have set it in the channel properties.

I just looked and the last update was at 18.15 my time. It read 1530. I have just manually refreshed and it reads 1542.

Is there somewhere I can email the script to you so that you can get the URL? You can then check it for yourself.

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3021
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:55 pm

Send me the script to the same email address as before, and also the .CHANNEL file (you can find it here).

And your CONFIG.INI file.

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Mon Nov 19, 2012 7:40 pm

I have sent them. many thanks.

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3021
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:48 am

Your configuration is all OK, but the line I suggested you add to the script needs to be moved up a line. It should look like this:

Code: Select all

print "<rss>"
print "<channel>"
print "<item>"
print "<link> link to feed.xml </link>"
print "<title> PUT SOMETHING HERE </title>"
print "<description>" , val , "</description>"
print "<guid isPermalink=\"false\">" , val , "</guid>"                <== this line has to be...
print "</item>"                                                       <== ...*before* this line
print "</channel>"
print "</rss>"

I've been running it for a few hours and it seems to be working fine.

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:01 pm

Many thanks. I'm now getting the balloons.

Unfortunately they don't feature the audience figure. I was kind of expecting the data be in the balloon. Is there a way of doing that?

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 3021
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:48 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:15 pm

jakeuk wrote:I was kind of expecting the data be in the balloon.

Change this line:

Code: Select all

print "<title> PUT SOMETHING HERE </title>"

to this:

Code: Select all

print "<title>" , val , "</title>"

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:59 pm

Yes! Works just great!

Thanks so much. Just what I wanted.

jakeuk
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 5:56 pm

Postby jakeuk » Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:42 pm

Still working like a dream. Thanks again.

It even served as an early warning system when the server (and therefore the streams) were down momentarily the other day.

One more question, sorry! Is it possible to put more than one of the XML feeds in a single Python script? Thereby giving more than one total in the notification balloon. Actually it would be great to be able to add the numbers of two feeds together and show the total.

However, if neither is possible I'm very happy with what I now have. My life is transformed!


Return to “Awasu - Extensions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests