TrackSnakeLA
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:24 pm

Postby TrackSnakeLA » Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:37 pm

Tried repeatedly to export OPML of Channels and it fails.

The, tried to download and upgrade, using recommended upgrade paths, to newest beta. Install crashed after launching admin.exe.

Because a backup was made of the installation directory, it was simply replaced its contents when the overwrite broke.

Please provide solution to export OPML into another reader, thanks.

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:59 pm

2.2 doesn't have a built-in OPML export feature, you have to do it via a report. Is this how you were trying to do it? When you say "it fails", what exactly happens?

2.3 does have a native OPML export feature and will be released this week.

TrackSnakeLA
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:24 pm

Postby TrackSnakeLA » Sat Apr 14, 2007 10:54 pm

There's no way to select a report output of OPML. If it's there I can't find it.

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:36 am

TrackSnakeLA wrote:There's no way to select a report output of OPML. If it's there I can't find it.

Create a new report and for the template, browse to <tt>ExportOpml.template</tt>.

TrackSnakeLA
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:24 pm

Postby TrackSnakeLA » Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:47 pm

Where can the OPML output be found when doing it that way?

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Apr 16, 2007 3:54 pm

TrackSnakeLA wrote:Where can the OPML output be found when doing it that way?

You specify where you want the output to be saved (if you don't, the report gets generated to an internal temp file and shown in a browser window).

TrackSnakeLA
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:24 pm

Postby TrackSnakeLA » Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:29 pm

So, I specified the file name and it gets output as HTML. My understandign is that it can't be imported unless it's got an extension of OPML.

So, I can't generate an OPML output file.

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:35 pm

TrackSnakeLA wrote:So, I specified the file name and it gets output as HTML. My understandign is that it can't be imported unless it's got an extension of OPML.

So give the output filename a .OPML extension, or just rename it. What are you using to import it? It must be pretty lame if it insists on a .OPML extension :roll:

How are you telling that HTML is being output? Have you looked at the output file in a text/XML editor? If you look at the <tt>ExportOpml.template</tt> file itself, you can see it's XML so if you're getting HTML, you must've chosen the wrong template file.

TrackSnakeLA
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:24 pm

Postby TrackSnakeLA » Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:07 pm

OK. Just named the file with an .opml extension, created the report and was able to successfully import it into a different reader.

However, in the new 4-15 version you posted, there's no Export OPML template. Workaround?

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2925
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:09 pm


TrackSnakeLA
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:24 pm

Postby TrackSnakeLA » Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:35 pm

Thanks. That should solve it.


Return to “Awasu - Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 0 guests