View unanswered posts | View active topics

Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:40 am
Posts: 7
Post 2.3 freezes whilst retrieving feed information
Good morning.
Windows 2000 Professional SP4, ie6 sp1
Awasu 2.3

Program installed and working. One, maybe two RSS feeds added successfully and items retrieved. Attempt to add a new channel through the wizard, enter the URL then press next and the application then displays the hour-glass and does not continue, error or return control back to the application. The only way forward is to terminate the process.

Any thoughts/suggestions appreciated. Thanks

Keith


Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:45 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Posts: 2896
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post Re: 2.3 freezes whilst retrieving feed information
Can you please post the feed URL that is causing the problem.


Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:48 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:40 am
Posts: 7
Post Re: 2.3 freezes whilst retrieving feed information
support wrote:
Can you please post the feed URL that is causing the problem.


Certainly but it could be any feed. I have tried on two different machines (same OS and version etc).

First feed - http://www.caa.co.uk/RSS/RSS_15.xml

second feed - http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline ... ge/rss.xml

Both of these operate correctly on machines with xp or Vista and IE7 using the built0in RSS readers.

Thanks
K


Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:53 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Posts: 2896
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post Re: 2.3 freezes whilst retrieving feed information
Both these feeds are working fine for me. What happens if you try to open these URL's as a web page (File|Open web page)?

That the Channel Wizard hangs the UI while it is downloading the feed is a known issue but there is a problem in a Microsoft component that is stopping us from doing anything about it :-( My first guess would be that something is blocking Awasu e.g. a firewall or proxy.


Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:31 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:40 am
Posts: 7
Post 
My apologies - I seem to have jumped between threads - my ignorance with forums I'm afraid.

Thanks for the update. I am having trouble locating the channels directory but I will try your suggestions.

Thank you

Keith


Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:32 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Posts: 2896
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post 
keith_alabaster wrote:
My apologies - I seem to have jumped between threads - my ignorance with forums I'm afraid.

No, I created a new thread since it seemed like you were asking two different questions :-)


Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:39 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 263
Post 
Hi Taka,
this is a "me too" with this issue. Awasu continues to update, but I can't navigate or anything. I can even right click the icon in the system tray and choose open, even with the window already open and that doesn't clear it. It doesn't report it is unresponsive, and in fact, like I said continues to update, but the only way I can continue is to close it and start again. This didn't happen in previous versions that I noted. I am using XP SP2
Thanks!
Sue


Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:42 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Posts: 2896
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post 
Please post the feed URL's causing the problem.


Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:23 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 263
Post 
Taka,
It isn't any particular feed. I have 133 of them and can send you the opml if you would like, but it is happening across the various channels.
Sue


Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:27 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Posts: 2896
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post 
The OP was talking about Awasu freezing when trying to create a new channel. What are you talking about?


Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:37 pm
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 263
Post 
Awasu is freezing while I'm navigating through the various channels. It continues to update but I can't click anything once it freezes. I have to shut it down and start over.
Thanks Taka,
Sue


Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:06 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Posts: 2896
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post 
sue wrote:
I can't click anything once it freezes.

How about keyboard access? e.g. Alt-F should show the File menu.

This doesn't really make a lot of sense. It's probably something else on your PC that's causing this...


Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:42 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 263
Post 
Hi Taka,
absolutely nothing works, except I can right click on the icon in the system tray and choose open (even if it is already open) but then I can't do anything. The updating of channels isn't affected.

I have no idea what it could be, and it isn't crashing when this happens, so I have no error report to share with you. And I don't get a not responding indicator, I just can't click anything...


Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:26 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Posts: 2896
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Post 
sue wrote:
I can right click on the icon in the system tray and choose open

So what happens if you choose <i>Options</i>? Does the dialog come up?


Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:39 am
Profile WWW
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm
Posts: 263
Post 
no, you can't do anything but exit


Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:08 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron