keith_alabaster
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:40 am

Postby keith_alabaster » Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:45 am

Good morning.
Windows 2000 Professional SP4, ie6 sp1
Awasu 2.3

Program installed and working. One, maybe two RSS feeds added successfully and items retrieved. Attempt to add a new channel through the wizard, enter the URL then press next and the application then displays the hour-glass and does not continue, error or return control back to the application. The only way forward is to terminate the process.

Any thoughts/suggestions appreciated. Thanks

Keith

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:48 am

Can you please post the feed URL that is causing the problem.

keith_alabaster
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:40 am

Postby keith_alabaster » Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:53 am

support wrote:Can you please post the feed URL that is causing the problem.


Certainly but it could be any feed. I have tried on two different machines (same OS and version etc).

First feed - http://www.caa.co.uk/RSS/RSS_15.xml

second feed - http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline ... ge/rss.xml

Both of these operate correctly on machines with xp or Vista and IE7 using the built0in RSS readers.

Thanks
K

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:31 am

Both these feeds are working fine for me. What happens if you try to open these URL's as a web page (File|Open web page)?

That the Channel Wizard hangs the UI while it is downloading the feed is a known issue but there is a problem in a Microsoft component that is stopping us from doing anything about it :-( My first guess would be that something is blocking Awasu e.g. a firewall or proxy.

keith_alabaster
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:40 am

Postby keith_alabaster » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:32 am

My apologies - I seem to have jumped between threads - my ignorance with forums I'm afraid.

Thanks for the update. I am having trouble locating the channels directory but I will try your suggestions.

Thank you

Keith

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:39 am

keith_alabaster wrote:My apologies - I seem to have jumped between threads - my ignorance with forums I'm afraid.

No, I created a new thread since it seemed like you were asking two different questions :-)

User avatar
prazim
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm

Postby prazim » Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:42 pm

Hi Taka,
this is a "me too" with this issue. Awasu continues to update, but I can't navigate or anything. I can even right click the icon in the system tray and choose open, even with the window already open and that doesn't clear it. It doesn't report it is unresponsive, and in fact, like I said continues to update, but the only way I can continue is to close it and start again. This didn't happen in previous versions that I noted. I am using XP SP2
Thanks!
Sue

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:23 pm

Please post the feed URL's causing the problem.

User avatar
prazim
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm

Postby prazim » Wed Feb 06, 2008 8:27 pm

Taka,
It isn't any particular feed. I have 133 of them and can send you the opml if you would like, but it is happening across the various channels.
Sue

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:37 pm

The OP was talking about Awasu freezing when trying to create a new channel. What are you talking about?

User avatar
prazim
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm

Postby prazim » Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:06 am

Awasu is freezing while I'm navigating through the various channels. It continues to update but I can't click anything once it freezes. I have to shut it down and start over.
Thanks Taka,
Sue

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:42 am

sue wrote:I can't click anything once it freezes.

How about keyboard access? e.g. Alt-F should show the File menu.

This doesn't really make a lot of sense. It's probably something else on your PC that's causing this...

User avatar
prazim
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm

Postby prazim » Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:26 am

Hi Taka,
absolutely nothing works, except I can right click on the icon in the system tray and choose open (even if it is already open) but then I can't do anything. The updating of channels isn't affected.

I have no idea what it could be, and it isn't crashing when this happens, so I have no error report to share with you. And I don't get a not responding indicator, I just can't click anything...

User avatar
support
Site Admin
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Postby support » Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:39 am

sue wrote:I can right click on the icon in the system tray and choose open

So what happens if you choose <i>Options</i>? Does the dialog come up?

User avatar
prazim
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 12:17 pm

Postby prazim » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:08 am

no, you can't do anything but exit


Return to “Awasu - Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests